VIEW THE FULL GALLERY OF IMAGES
We did a real whistle stop tour to Naboomspruit travelling via Marble Hall where we stopped for lunch at a game lodge. The chicken burger was an absolute treat and we were lucky not to have opted for the more commercial variety in one of the towns.
Naboomspruit was officially renamed Mookgophong in 2006 but locals happily use both names. The town was originally founded on the farm “Vischgat” in 1907 and is close to the other Limpopo towns of Modimolle (Nylstroom) and Mokopane (Potgietersrus),the name relates to it’s proximity to the “euphorbia tree stream”
After a meeting to discuss the “Windpompfees’ in Naboomspruit we were lucky enough to be taken on a guided tour of the abandoned “Union Tin” mine on a private farm nearby. It was a totally eerie,mind blowing experience, the mine closed down in about 1985 but the remnants remain with a very much post apocalyptic feel – one could imagine mutants or zombies lurking in the darkness. Light was low as the mine is in a valley but we managed to get a few shots of the mine headgear and equipment as well as some of the mine buildings and old cars that were left behind.
Elsewhere on the property are the ruins of Eugene Marais house and the valley where he studied the termites and baboons immortalised in his classic books. With the sun setting rapidly we ran out of time to take more pictures and headed back to Johannesburg and home. Perhaps with more time we can revisit the site and capture more images to share.